With all the hype around gluten-free bread and touting of the health benefits, you might be feeling a little overwhelmed and confused. Let’s go back to basics in this article and discuss what we mean when we refer to gluten-free bread.
What is gluten-free bread
What is gluten-free bread?
First, let’s have a reminder about what gluten is. A useful article from Harvard Chan School of Public Health’s The Nutrition Source provides some basic information: gluten is a protein naturally found in some grains including wheat, barley, and rye. This article also provides a handy list of other grains that contain gluten: wheat berries, spelt, durum, emmer, semolina, farina, farro, graham, khorasan wheat, einkorn, and triticale (a blend of wheat and rye).